skipjackpublishing enhanced logoFOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

November 2016

SkipJack Publishing Announces Upcoming Release of Debut Author, Marcy McKay

Texas – Award-winning author Marcy McKay and SkipJack Publishing announce the January 21, 2016, release of McKay’s literary suspense novel, Pennies from Burger Heaven (ISBN 978-1-939889-33-1).

About Pennies from Burger Heaven: Eleven-year-old Copper Daniels is homeless and alone. She spends her nights sleeping beneath the cemetery’s Warrior Angel statue for protection, and her days battling the mean streets of Remington, Texas, hell-bent on discovering what happened the night her Mama disappeared. While Copper and her rag-tag group of friends find danger at every corner. Only two things are certain – her Mama’s really missing and someone’s truly trying to kill Copper.

In the tradition of The Lovely Bones and Room, Pennies from Burger Heaven tells a dark story through the eyes of a child. With wit and wisdom, Copper Daniels will steal your heart, then break it in two.

Awards for Pennies from Burger Heaven:

*2010 First Place – Writers’ League of Texas, Best Mainstream Novel Competition

*2010 First Place – Frontiers in Writing, Best Mainstream Novel Contest

*2010 Winner – Frontiers in Writing, Overall Best of Show

Praise for Pennies from Burger Heaven:

“Against the gritty backdrop of an inner-city ghetto rises the unforgettable voice of eleven-year-old Copper ‘Penny’ Daniels, offering poignant and heartbreaking insights into the horrors and trials of homeless life on the streets, finding heaven where you least expect it, and help in those you never thought to ask.”

– A.G. Howard, New York Times Bestselling Author of the Splintered Series

“Debut novelist McKay infuses Pennies from Burger Heaven with wit, charm and moxie, so much so that the achingly beautifulness of Copper Daniels’ life sneaks up on you. All of this wrapped around a mystery that is fast-paced and rife with tension, with a satisfying series of twists. Can’t wait for the next Burger Heaven novel.”

— Pamela Fagan Hutchins, author of the Kate & Annalise mystery series


Marcy McKay knew she wanted to write stories the moment she read about Oompah Loompahs in fourth grade. She’s an award-winning short-story author and copywriter, as well as a freelance journalist and creator of Mudpie Writing blog. Her work has appeared in Writer’s Digest, The Write Practice, Write to Done, Positive Writer and Jane Marcy lives in Texas with her husband and two teens, who all still like her…most of the time. McKay is a member of the Writers’ League of Texas and the Texas High Plains Writers. To connect with her, please visit, on Facebook, or Twitter.

For further information, please contact:

Eric Hutchins

P.O. Box 219

Burton, TX 77835

T: 713-855-4872

[email protected]

Share →